Follow me on Twitter @bookkaz

Tuesday, 14 June 2016

The Little Village Bakery Review

THE LITTLE VILLAGE BAKERY by TILLY TENNANT



THE BLURB

Help yourself to a generous slice of Victoria sponge, a perfect cup of tea and a big dollop of romance. Welcome to the Little Village Bakery.

Meet Millie. Heartbreak has forced her to make a new start and when she arrives at the old bakery in the little village of Honeybourne she is determined that this will be her home sweet home. Her imagination has been captured by the tumbledown bakery but with no running water and dust everywhere, her cosy idea of making cakes in a rural idyll quickly crumbles.

Luckily the locals are a friendly bunch and step in to help Millie. One in particular, Dylan, a laid-back lothario, soon captures her attention.

But just as Millie is beginning to settle in, an unexpected visitor from her past suddenly turns up determined to ruin everything for her. It’s time for Millie to face the skeletons in her closet if she’s going to live the dream of running her little village bakery, and her blossoming romance with Dylan.

A charming heartwarming novel about love, life and new beginnings perfect for fans of Milly Johnson and Debbie Johnson.

MY REVIEW

This was an absolute treat to read!  I thought it was going to be cakes galore, but the bakery really plays second fiddle to the story of Millie as she moves to Honeybourne to try and escape the sadness that has plagued her life.  Baking has always been her escape so when the chance arises for her to try and reopen the neglected Old Bakery in Honeybourne, then  she jumps at the chance to escape the victimisation she feels where she is now

As we read more, we soon learn what has happened in Millie's past and this explains why she's so reluctant to let people into her life - but she soon finds out that the villagers in Honeybourne are a persistent bunch and are always there for chats, tea and cake!  One of those is Jasmine Green who has the perfect marriage to Richard, and is mum to triplets, and she is keen to befriend Millie at the earliest opportunity and we soon see that this causes a few cracks to appear in her marriage.

Jasmines' brother, Dylan, is also a neighbour and he seems to have just drifted along in life, not taking things too seriously since they lost their parents, and he always has Jasmine looking out for him.  He also has a reputation as a bit of a ladies man so Jasmine is always concerned when a new female arrives on the scene!


There is a darker edge to this book as secrets of the past are revealed and this just adds to the enjoyment of the book and I did struggle to put it down once I had started reading!  I'm also glad to see that this is the first in the Honeybourne series so am really looking forward to reading more from this lovely little village and wonderful, and some weird!, characters in the future.

Release Date - 15th June 2016




No comments:

Post a Comment