Follow me on Twitter @bookkaz

Saturday, 10 February 2018

My Bookish Weekly Wrap Up - Week 6 2018


Hello!!  Sympathy required today! I have succumbed to the cold germs that I thought I'd done so well to avoid all Winter!!  Started yesterday so I'm suffering today and am already sick of the pills, potions and lemsips diet that I'm now on!  Hopefully you are safe from my germs though reading this, so than you for stopping by!

It has been a good bookish week though so that's always a bonus!!  Seem to still be suffering from the inability to say no to a Blog Tour, so watch out for lots coming your way over the next couple of months!!

Managed to read 5 books this week and have been very good on the book buying/acquiring front and only added 2 to my real bookshelves and 2 to my NetGalley shelf!  So my postman has forgiven me this week..... I fear this feeling won't be lasting long!

BOOKS FINISHED


Loved this historical book that adds colour to a real life scandal that rocked the art world in Georgian Britain. 



Loved this!  The start of a new series and it had all the feels for a community coming together as a woman goes back to face her fears.




This was a fascinating read and so different to many Persephone books as it is a much later release than many of their books.  



I normally adore books from this author, but this one just didn't make my heart sing! Felt very forced and I couldn't wait to finish it!



Another read that I raced through this week as I couldn't put it down! Pulls at the heartstrings and made me shed a tear or two!


BOOKPOST

One book in ahead of a Blog Tour this week, and then one was a treat from me to me as I've been reading so many wonderful reviews! I didn't want to miss out!  And then there was 2 books on NetGalley that I couldn't say no to!

We Were The Salt of the Sea by Roxanne Bouchard  ahead of Blog Tour
Publication Date  April 2018


As Montrealer Catherine Day sets foot in a remote fishing village and starts asking around about her birth mother, the body of a woman dredges up in a fisherman’s nets. Not just any woman, though: Marie Garant, an elusive, nomadic sailor and unbridled beauty who once tied many a man’s heart in knots. Detective Sergeant Joaquin Morales, newly drafted to the area from the suburbs of Montreal, barely has time to unpack his suitcase before he’s thrown into the deep end of the investigation. On Quebec’s outlying Gaspé Peninsula, the truth can be slippery, especially down on the fishermen’s wharves. Interviews drift into idle chit-chat, evidence floats off with the tide and the truth lingers in murky waters. It’s enough to make DS Morales reach straight for a large whisky.

The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by  Stuart Turton


How do you stop a murder that’s already happened?

At a gala party thrown by her parents, Evelyn Hardcastle will be killed--again. She's been murdered hundreds of times, and each day, Aiden Bishop is too late to save her. Doomed to repeat the same day over and over, Aiden's only escape is to solve Evelyn Hardcastle's murder and conquer the shadows of an enemy he struggles to even comprehend--but nothing and no one are quite what they seem.

Deeply atmospheric and ingeniously plotted, The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is a highly original debut that will appeal to fans of Kate Atkinson and Agatha Christie.

THE GLOAMING by KIRSTY LOGAN  (NetGalley)
Publication Date April 2018


Mara’s island is one of stories and magic. She knows she’ll eventually end her days atop the cliff, turned to stone and gazing out at the horizon like all the villagers that went before her, drawn by the otherworldly call of the sea. Her whole family will be there too, even her brother Bee and her sister Islay. 

But the island and the sea do what they want, and when they claim a price from her family, Mara’s world changes forever.

As years pass and Mara grows into herself and her scars, a chance meeting with the magnetic Pearl brings magic to life once more in ways that Mara never thought possible, in a story that she never would have dreamed for herself before.

The enchanting spiritual prequel to The Gracekeepers, Kirsty Logan’s The Gloaming is a present-day fable that brims over with dazzling imagination and captivating language.


THE ILLUMINATION OF URSULA FLIGHT by ANNA-MARIE CROWHURST
Publication Date May 2018

Born on the night of an ill-auguring comet just before Charles II's Restoration, Ursula Flight has a difficult future written in the stars.

Against the custom of the age she begins an education with her father, who fosters in her a love of reading, writing and astrology.

Following a surprise meeting with an actress, Ursula yearns for the theatre and thus begins her quest to become a playwright despite scoundrels, bounders, bad luck and heartbreak.



Also have to share another bookish purchase this week - to try and keep my bedside table all organised on the reading front!  How could I not treat myself to this one!  bluebellrow is where I got this from!


CURRENTLY READING

Two on the go at the mo.....ooh poetry as well for you to enjoy  today! I do spoil you!!

The Cottingley Secret by Hazel Gaynor

Started this yesterday and loving it so far! Hope to finish it later today!

The author of The Girl Who Came Home turns the clock back one hundred years to a time when two young girls from Cottingley, Yorkshire, convinced the world that they had done the impossible and photographed fairies in their garden. Now, in her newest novel, international bestseller Hazel Gaynor reimagines their story.

The Persephone Book of Short Stories by Various

Continuing my Persephone Readathon/Year of Persephone, this is my latest read and full of a variety of different short stories from 30 different authors.


💖💖💖💖💖💖

And there we have it!  Hope you've all had a successful week with no germs!!

HAPPY READING!!


No comments:

Post a Comment