Follow me on Twitter @bookkaz

Saturday, 14 April 2018

My Bookish Weekly Wrap Up - Week 14


Hello!!! You made it to the weekend!! Time to celebrate!  I really don't know what has happened to the last week! It's been a bit of a blur!  I've been looking after our old neighbours' 2 cats this past week so that has taken up some of my precious reading time! How dare they demand being played with and being fed!!  And also had a visit from my lovely nephew and niece so no chance of reading with them around, although my 10 year old niece is a proper little bookworm already, so we had to stop at a Waterstones and she came out with 3 books - which I'm hoping she'll let me borrow when she's finished with them!

So my reading week has been a bit of a shocker and I'm wondering if it's a little mini slump! It's not as if I've not been enjoying the books I've been reading but it's just that life got in the way this week! Hopefully normal service can be resumed next week - and NEEDS to be resumed if the toppling TBR pile is anything to go by!!

Just 2 books - yep 2! - finished for me this week! Way down on normal!  And 3 books arrived - never good to have the arrivals outweighing those read haha!  So here's a look at them all!
BOOKS FINISHED

Their Brilliant Careers by Ryan O'Neill  -  4 stars

So much fun! Loved this off the wall look at 16 crazy Aussie authors!



Love in an English Garden by Victoria Connelly  - 3 stars

A lovely, easy to read book that was delightful!


BOOKPOST

Sunset over the Cherry Orchard by Jo Thomas

Publication Date - 23rd August 2018
Headline Review
Jo Thomas's new novel invites you to a special cherry orchard in Spain, where sunshine, romance and family secrets are the order of the day. Perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond, Milly Johnson and Katie Fforde, SUNSET OVER THE CHERRY ORCHARD is a heartwarming, hilarious tale.

It's time for Beti Winter to dance to her own beat. 

After three failed engagements Beti is in desperate need of a fresh start. What better place than the sun-drenched hills of southern Spain?

But it's not all sangria and siestas. Beti finds work on an old Andalucian cherry farm where there are cherries to be picked, trees to be watered and her fiery boss, Antonio, to win over.

As the sun toasts her skin, Beti finds herself warming to the Spanish way of life. Embracing the art of flamenco, she discovers there is much to learn from the dance of passion. She just has to let loose and listen to the rhythm of her heart.

THAT SUMMER IN PUGLIA by VALERIA VESCINA

Publisher - Eyewear Publishing
Blog Tour coming in May 2018

Tommaso has escaped discovery for thirty years but a young private investigator, Will, has tracked him down. Tommaso asks him to pretend never to have found him. To persuade Will, Tommaso recounts the story of his life and his great love. In the process, he comes to recognise his true role in the events which unfolded, and the legacy of unresolved grief. Now he's being presented with a second chance - but is he ready to pay the price it exacts? That Summer In Puglia is a tale of love, loss, the perils of self-deception and the power of compassion. Puglia offers an ideal setting: its layers of history are integral to the story, itself an excavation of a man's past; Tommaso's increasingly vivid memories of its sensuous colours, aromas and tastes, and of how it felt to love and be loved, eventually transform the discomforting tone with which he at first tries to keep Will and painful truths at a distance. This remarkable debut combines a gripping plot and perceptive insights into human nature with delicate lyricism.

THE MILLION DOLLAR DUCHESSES by JULIE FERRY

Publisher - Aurum Press
Publication Date - 24th May 2018
Blog Tour coming in May 2018


POWER, SCANDAL, GLAMOUR, FAME
 
On 6th November 1895, the beautiful and brilliant heiress Consuelo Vanderbilt was wedded to the near-insolvent Charles Spencer-Churchill, 9th Duke of Marlborough in a dazzling yet miserable match – it glittered above all others for high society’s marriage brokers who, in this single year, forged a series of spectacular, and lucrative, transatlantic unions.

The bankrupt and ailing British aristocracy was suddenly injected with all the wealth and glamour of America's newest dynasties. Millions of dollars changed hands as fame, money, power and privilege were all at play.
 
Brimful of scandal, illicit affairs, spurned loves and unexpected tragedy, The Million Dollar Duchesses reveals the closed-door bargaining which led to these most influential matches and how America’s heiresses shook-up British high society for ever.

CURRENTLY READING

The Magic of Ramblings by Kate Field
Really enjoying this book and loving the characters!


Fingers in the Sparkle Jar by Chris Packham
Fascinating insight


Black Violet by Alex Hyland


🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷






No comments:

Post a Comment