Follow me on Twitter @bookkaz

Saturday, 3 November 2018

My Bookish Weekly Wrap Up - Week 43 2018


Hello all and Happy November! Where has 2018 gone?!! Very scary that I'm now having to consider what everyone wants for christmas so that I can avoid the stress of shopping in December - I think Gift Vouchers may be the way forward!!

Been a mixed week for me as haven't been feeling too well, but did get out in the sunshine to see a local Wood Fest and got to meet the rather gorgeous Roy who is a working Suffolk Punch horse.  He was a total star showing off his skills and loved all the fuss we gave him too!

On the bookish front it's been an okay kind of week! I don't feel like I've been in a big reading mood, or been reading very quickly but have still managed to get 4 books finished - slacking on the writing of reviews front though!  Must do better on that score!  I've been well behaved on NetGalley and requested 0 books, and was good and only treated myself to 2 new additions for my bookshelves!

So here's a look back at my week! Click on the titles for links to the GoodReads pages!

BOOKS FINISHED


Read this via The Pigeonhole app and it was a stunning story told very creatively. Lots to think about


Another Blog Tour read and another goodie! A true storyteller!!


Read this for a Blog Tour later this month, and loved the mix of history and politics. Harriet Howard, who the book is based on, is such a fascinating character.



A lovely novella set just after the War



BOOK HAUL

I thought I deserved some treats this week so started online at Belgravia Books where they had a limited edition hardback edition of this - it comes with a signed print and some rather extraordinary postcards! Will be framing those!

LITTLE by EDWARD CAREY


The wry, macabre, unforgettable tale of an ambitious orphan in Revolutionary Paris, befriended by royalty and radicals, who transforms herself into the legendary Madame Tussaud. 

In 1761, a tiny, odd-looking girl named Marie is born in a village in Switzerland. After the death of her parents, she is apprenticed to an eccentric wax sculptor and whisked off to the seamy streets of Paris, where they meet a domineering widow and her quiet, pale son. Together, they convert an abandoned monkey house into an exhibition hall for wax heads, and the spectacle becomes a sensation. As word of her artistic talent spreads, Marie is called to Versailles, where she tutors a princess and saves Marie Antoinette in childbirth. But outside the palace walls, Paris is roiling: The revolutionary mob is demanding heads, and . . . at the wax museum, heads are what they do.

In the tradition of Gregory Maguire's Wicked and Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus, Edward Carey's Little is a darkly endearing cavalcade of a novel--a story of art, class, determination, and how we hold on to what we love.


And it was also time for me to choose my next book from Alma Books as part of their Year of Reading Subscription so I chose this one!

ISABEL'S SKIN by PETER BENSON


David Morris lives the quiet life of a book-valuer for a London auction house, travelling every day by omnibus to his office in the Strand. When he is asked to make a trip to rural Somerset to value the library of the recently deceased Lord Buff-Orpington, the sense of trepidation he feels as he heads into the country is confirmed the moment he reaches his destination, the dark and impoverished village of Ashbrittle. These feelings turn to dread when he meets the enigmatic Professor Richard Hunt and catches a glimpse of a screaming woman he keeps prisoner in his house.


CURRENTLY READING




the November choice for the GoodReads Elizabeth Taylor Reading Project group


❥❥❥❥❥

how has your reading week been? Hope it's been a good one!

HAPPY READING!









No comments:

Post a Comment