Follow me on Twitter @bookkaz

Saturday, 19 January 2019

My Bookish Weekly Wrap Up - 19th January 2019


Hello!! How are we?! Good I hope! I'm frozen here as we're finally getting a taste of Winter - snowflakes have even been spotted with more forecast!  Another good excuse to hibernate and read a bit more I think!  Bunny is happy with the weather though - handy having a fur coat I guess!!

And it's been another good week on the bookish front! Another 5 books written, another 0 bought (Day 19 of my No Buy January and it's going exceedingly well!) and there have been new additions to my shelves thanks to a  book of the month club, a review copy and a copy of a book that is now in paperback that I read as a manuscript!

So here's a look back at my week - hoping to catch up with reviews this week (failing miserably with those at the moment!!) so look out for review posts galore coming your way soon!

BOOKS FINISHED

A chilling story that I read via The Pigeonhole app and loved!!


A quick but fascinating read


I got completely caught up with this dark thriller and couldn't put it down.


When you find yourself sobbing throughout a book, it's fair to say that it has stolen your heart! Very early contender for my books of 2019 list already!!


Another top class thriller from Fiona Barton that I raced through!



BOOKPOST

The Plotters by Un-Su Km
This is the January Book of the Month from Goldsboro Books



A fantastical crime novel set in an alternate Seoul where assassination guilds compete for market dominance, for fans of Han Kang, Patrick DeWitt and Kill Bill. - Reseng is an assassin, and behind every assassination, there is an anonymous mastermind--a plotter--working in the shadows. Raised by a philosophical and cantankerous killer named Old Raccoon in his crime headquarters, The Library, Reseng has always been surrounded by plots--and by books that no one ever reads. But, when Reseng steps out of line on a job, he risks his future. And when he uncovers an extraordinary plot being cooked up by an eccentric trio of young women--a convenience store clerk, her wheelchair-bound sister, and a cross-eyed obsessive knitter--he will have to decide whether he will be used as a pawn, or if he can take control of the game. 
Un-su Kim has written that rarest of novels, a cracking commercial crime novel that sings with the soul, wit, and lyricism of real literary craft. The Plotters is page-turning, hilarious, soul-searching, and deeply entertaining. It is a wake-up call to genre lovers and literary readers alike.




THE BEEKEEPER OF ALEPPO by CHRISTY LEFTERI  - copy for review
Published by Bonnier Zaffre. 
Publication Date - 2nd May 2019



In the midst of war, he found love
In the midst of darkness, he found courage
In the midst of tragedy, he found hope

The Beekeeper of Aleppo

What will you find from his story?

Nuri is a beekeeper; his wife, Afra, an artist. They live a simple life, rich in family and friends, in the beautiful Syrian city of Aleppo - until the unthinkable happens. When all they care for is destroyed by war, they are forced to escape. But what Afra has seen is so terrible she has gone blind, and so they must embark on a perilous journey through Turkey and Greece towards an uncertain future in Britain. On the way, Nuri is sustained by the knowledge that waiting for them is Mustafa, his cousin and business partner, who has started an apiary and is teaching fellow refugees in Yorkshire to keep bees. 

As Nuri and Afra travel through a broken world, they must confront not only the pain of their own unspeakable loss, but dangers that would overwhelm the bravest of souls. Above all - and perhaps this is the hardest thing they face - they must journey to find each other again.

Moving, powerful, compassionate and beautifully written, The Beekeeper of Aleppo is a testament to the triumph of the human spirit. Told with deceptive simplicity, it is the kind of book that reminds us of the power of storytelling.




As part of the Choc Lit tasting panel you get to read books at manuscript stage and give your thoughts! And if they receive enough positive thoughts on a story they publish it as an e-book, and many then go on to paperback status!  This book got 5 stars from me and it's always lovely to see your name in a book -ooh and chocolate!!



CURRENTLY READING





❆❆❆❆❆

I hope your bookish week has been as enjoyable! Any new additions to your shelves?!  Any great reads I need to find?! Would love to hear your thoughts!

HAPPY READING!






2 comments:

  1. I got my copy of The Beekeeper of Aleppo too! I'm so excited to read it. Fab post :) roachiesreviews.com

    ReplyDelete