Follow me on Twitter @bookkaz

Sunday, 6 January 2019

My Bookish Weekly Wrap Up - 6th January 2019


Hello! Happy Sunday! All traces of Christmas have now been removed from the house! A sad day! It was fun while it lasted!

But onwards and upwards, and am trying to get back in the routine of reading as it all went a bit silly over the festive period, so time to play catch up and get those books off the TBR pile!

So a quiet New Year meant I could get a few books finished that I had on the go - it's always good to start a couple of books in the last few days of December, to guarantee more finishes in January! - so I managed to read 5 books in the past week.  The big change this year will be on the buying front!  Forget Dry January, I'm going for No Buy January! Especially when it comes to books so there will hopefully (!) be no hauls for a few weeks! And maybe even longer as I really need to start reading what I already have!! And I've only been over to NetGalley to get a book for an upcoming Blog Tour so my halo is shining bright so far on my quest to behave myself!

So here's a look back at my week! Please click on the title for a link to the GoodReads page for more info!

BOOKS FINISHED

Such a fun and insightful read!


Loved, Loved, Loved!


A thoroughly engaging story of a young woman striving to discover herself


A really enjoyable story of a girl using crossword puzzles to track down 'the one'!


I loved this!! Still trying to work out how best to review it as I don't think any words can do it justice!



NETGALLEY

The Forgotten Secret by Kathleen McGurl
Published by HQ Digital - Publication Date -  1st March 2019


Can she unlock the mysteries of the past?
A country at war
It’s the summer of 1919 and Ellen O’Brien has her whole life ahead of her. Young, in love and leaving home for her first job, the future seems full of shining possibility. But war is brewing and before long, Ellen and everyone around her are swept up by it. As Ireland is torn apart by the turmoil, Ellen finds herself facing the ultimate test of love and loyalty.
 
A long-buried secret

A hundred years later and Clare Farrell has inherited a dilapidated old farmhouse in County Meath. Seizing the chance to escape her unhappy marriage she strikes out on her own for the first time, hoping the old building might also provide clues to her family’s shadowy history. As she sets out to put the place – and herself – back to rights, she stumbles across a long-forgotten hiding place, with a clue to a secret that has lain buried for decades.
 
For fans of Kate Morton and Gill Paul comes an unforgettable novel about two women fighting for independence.

CURRENTLY READING

Blood & Sugar by Laura Shepherd-Robinson
'A page-turner of a crime thriller . . . This is a world conveyed with convincing, terrible clarity' 
C. J. Sansom

Blood & Sugar is the thrilling debut historical crime novel from Laura Shepherd-Robinson.

June, 1781. An unidentified body hangs upon a hook at Deptford Dock – horribly tortured and branded with a slaver’s mark.

Some days later, Captain Harry Corsham – a war hero embarking upon a promising parliamentary career – is visited by the sister of an old friend. Her brother, passionate abolitionist Tad Archer, had been about to expose a secret that he believed could cause irreparable damage to the British slaving industry. He’d said people were trying to kill him, and now he is missing . . .

To discover what happened to Tad, Harry is forced to pick up the threads of his friend's investigation, delving into the heart of the conspiracy Tad had unearthed. His investigation will threaten his political prospects, his family’s happiness, and force a reckoning with his past, risking the revelation of secrets that have the power to destroy him.

And that is only if he can survive the mortal dangers awaiting him in Deptford...

The Sleeping Beauty by Elizabeth Taylor


A subtle love story by one of the most accomplished writers of the 20th century

Vinny Tumulty is a quiet, sensible man. When he goes to stay at a seaside town, his task is to comfort a bereaved friend. Vinny is prepared for a solemn few days of tears and consolation. But on the evening of his arrival, he looks out of the window at the sunset and catches sight of a mysterious, romantic figure: a beautiful woman walking by the seashore. Before the week is over Vinny has fallen in love, completely and utterly, for the first time in his middle-aged life. Emily, though, is a sleeping beauty, her secluded life hiding bitter secrets from the past.


📚📚📚📚📚


How is your 2019 shaping up on the book front?!  Any new books I need to know about?! Or avoid?!

HAPPY READING!!









No comments:

Post a Comment