Follow me on Twitter @bookkaz

Monday, 24 June 2019

#BlogTour #BookReview Needlemouse by Jane O'Connor @JaneOConnor100 @eburypublishing @TessHenderson1 @Tr4cyF3nt0n


Hugely delighted to be the latest stop on the Blog Tour for NEEDLEMOUSE by JANE O'CONNOR. My thanks to the author, publisher and Tracy Fenton for putting it all together and letting me be part of it!

Time to come out of hibernation...

Sylvia Penton has been hibernating for years, it's no wonder she's a little prickly...

Sylvia lives alone, dedicating herself to her job at the local university. On weekends, she helps out at a local hedgehog sanctuary because it gives her something to talk about on Mondays - and it makes people think she's nicer than she is.

Only Sylvia has a secret: she's been in love with her boss, Professor Lomax, for over a decade now, and she's sure he's just waiting for the right time to leave his wife. Meanwhile she stores every crumb of his affection and covertly makes trouble for anyone she feels gets in his way.

But when a bright new PhD candidate catches the Professor’s eye, Sylvia’s dreams of the fairy tale ending she has craved for so long, are soon in tatters, driving her to increasingly desperate measures and an uncertain future.

Sylvia might have been sleep walking through her life but things are about to change now she’s woken up…

A quirky, charming uplifting novel perfect for fans of Gail Honeyman's Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine and Sarah Haywood's The Cactus. The feelgood bestseller about unrequited love, loneliness and the redemptive qualities of hedgehogs featuring the most unlikely heroine of 2019.


PRE-ORDER LINKS - out 27th June 2019


Amazon UK  £7.99

hive.co.uk  £6.29

whsmith  £5.75


ABOUT THE AUTHOR


Jane O’Connor is a former primary school teacher turned academic and writer. She grew up in Surrey and lived in London until she moved to the West Midlands in her mid-thirties. Jane’s PhD was about child stars and she is now a Reader at Birmingham City University where she researches children’s experiences of celebrity, media and everyday life. Jane lives in Sutton Coldfield with her husband and two young sons in a house full of pirates, dinosaurs, superheroes and lots of books. She really likes all animals, especially hedgehogs.


Twitter - @JaneOConnor100


MY REVIEW

This book has been compared to Eleanor Oliphant and the like and I can totally see why! The main character is 'quirky'!  She doesn't conform to the norm and seems happy enough living life the way she wants to, but you just know that if you scratch away there's something hidden underneath the surface that makes you want to give them a big hug and let them know that life will be ok!

For 15 years she has devoted herself to her work, and her boss! Thinking he is just waiting for the right moment to dump his wife and live the 'happily ever after' life with  Sylvia. BUT he doesn't see the world the way she does and the more you witness his behaviour, the more you get the impression that he has just used her over the years and taken advantage of her devotion.

It's only when she sees him in a whole new light that the reality hits her that he's not her knight in shining armour and all she has pinned her hopes on crumbles away.  So what does she do with her life now?

As well as her work she has devoted her time helping to helping out at a hedgehog sanctuary with Jonas. He's a wonderful soul who takes great delight in living life simply and just wants to help the hedgehogs!  The more time Sylvia spends with him and the sanctuary, the more her eyes are opened as to what she wants out of life and when an old school friend reappears in her life, maybe her life starts to look up again and she sees things a little differently.

I loved the simplicity of this story - it's more about the personalities and life choices that each character makes.  Sylvia isn't the most likeable character to begin with - she's quite abrupt in her viewpoints but  she has a big dilemma to face when she sees her boss for what he really is and not what she thought he was for all those years.   There's a reason for why she is the way she is, and the more she gets stripped back then the more you understand her and things fall into place.

I really enjoyed this story and the journey that you see Sylvia take is a very realistic and  poignant one. 

★★★★






No comments:

Post a Comment