Follow me on Twitter @bookkaz

Thursday, 15 August 2019

#BlogTour THE WAREHOUSE by ROB HART #BookReview #RandomThingsTours #TheWarehouse


Delighted to be the latest stop on the fabulous Blog Tour for THE WAREHOUSE by ROB HART.  My thanks to the author, publisher and Anne of Random Things Tours for the copy of the book and allowing me to be part of the tour to share my thoughts!

ABOUT THE BOOK

THE WAREHOUSE
ROB HART
HARDBACK / 15th AUGUST 2019 / £12.99 / BANTAM PRESS



‘TO BEAT THE SYSTEM, YOU NEED TO BE INSIDE IT’




An immersive dystopian thriller set in an America addicted to consumerism; gun violence, climate change and unemployment have ravaged the nation, and an online retail giant named Cloud reigns supreme. Rob Hart has taken our current reality and transformed it into a terrifyingly recognisable future.


Paxton never thought he’d be working Security for the company that ruined his life, much less that he’d be moving into one of their sprawling live-work facilities. But compared to what’s left outside, perhaps Cloud isn’t so bad. Better still, through his work he meets Zinnia, who fills him with hope for their shared future. Except that Zinnia is not what she seems. And Paxton, with his all-access security credentials, might just be her meal ticket.

As Paxton and Zinnia’s agendas place them on a collision course, they’re about to learn just how far the Cloud will go to make the world a better place.


The Warehouse is brilliantly devised and fantastic world-building. Set in the confines of a corporate panopticon that’s at once brilliantly imagined and terrifyingly real, The Warehouse is a near-future thriller about what happens when Big Brother meets Big Business–and who will pay the ultimate price.


Perfect for fans of The Circle, The Martian and Ready Player One.

EARLY PRAISE FOR THE WAREHOUSE


‘The Warehouse is an inventive, addictive, Crichton-esque, page-turning, near-future dystopian thriller about a corporation ruling over every aspect of our late-capitalism lives. While I hope Rob hasn’t been sent back from the future to warn us, we should heed him regardless.’
Paul Tremblay, author of A Head Full of Ghosts and The Cabin at the End of the World


“The Warehouse is an absolute thriller. Using wit, insight and masterful story-telling, Rob Hart has written a riveting tale that reflects on the state of humanity and where we might be heading. Be prepared for the unexpected and to look at our world through a new, twisted lens.”
Ashlee Vance, author of Elon Musk: Tesla, SpaceX, and the Quest for a Fantastic Future


“On the surface, The Warehouse is a thrilling story of corporate espionage at the highest level, but dig a little deeper, and you’ll find a terrifying cautionary tale of the nightmare world we are making for ourselves—where our reliance upon e-commerce giants is turning them into malevolent entities more powerful than government.”
Blake Crouch, New York Times bestselling author of Dark Matter


“Fast-paced and unputdownable, thrilling and ominous, The Warehouse is a terrifying object lesson of a story that will haunt you each time you see a box on the front step—and yet make you wonder what colour your shirt will be, one day.”
Delilah S. Dawson, New York Times bestselling author of Wake of Vultures and Phasma


“I loved The Warehouse, although and because it made my blood run cold. The world Rob Hart creates is what our world could be by this time next year. Watching these oh so human characters try to cope, even thrive, in their new normal makes one alternately hopeful and despairing.”
SJ Rozan, author of Ghost Hero and Absent Friends


The film rights have been sold for a six figure sum after a five-way auction to Brian Grazer at Imagine Entertainment with Ron Howard set to direct, fresh from the Star Wars: Solo movie.

· Book rights already sold in 15 territories and counting and a major publication in the States. This is going to be the book everyone is talking about in August. 

· Rob decided to write the book because of this news story – the tragic death of Maria Fernandes who suffocated in her car whilst napping between her three shifts a day at different Dunkin Donuts stores.

PURCHASE LINKS

hive.co.uk  £10.25

whsmith  £9.35

waterstones  £12.99


ABOUT THE AUTHOR


Rob Hart has been a political reporter, the communications director for a politician, a commissioner for the city of New York and is currently a publisher. The Warehouse is his first standalone novel.

MY REVIEW

Imagine a world that's plagued with consumerism and gun violence and where climate change has altered the way people live - sounds a little too like reality now doesn't it?! In The Warehouse we get to see in even scarier detail a world where the impacts of the way we live and shop have taken their toll and it is not a pleasant outlook for us all but it makes for a scarily realistic and fascinating story that had me hooked from page one - and now vowing to do all I can not to let this horror become our reality!

In this world the 'Cloud' reigns - it's an online retail giant and it pretty much controls every aspect of your life! It pays employees not in money but in credits - they are in charge of their accommodation, who they mix with, the media - everything you could ever need is supplied by them so surely everything should be wonderful?!  I can't think where the 'inspiration' for this idea came from......

Paxton finds himself becoming an employee of The Cloud, the company who destroyed his business, as security and meets Zinnia who joins at the same time but seemingly has her own reasons for wanting to be there.  There seems to be a connection between them as people but you're still left wondering if she is using him for his inside knowledge to help her get what she wants.

The detail the author goes into about the working days and the control that The Cloud has over each employee is staggering and scarily believable!   And alongside the story of Paxton and Zinnia, we also hear the point of view from the creator of The Cloud - Gibson - who explains why he created this 'empire' and how he saw his dream come to be.  He seemed to start up with good intentions but then you get the impression that he just went a little power crazy!

There's a great mix of dry humour and darker tones throughout as you note the similarities to certain ways of our world and the control elements that certain businesses have put in place, and that the public are seemingly walking blindly into! The wearing of watches to track each employee and can only be taken off at night to recharge, the docking of credits if you were late or ill or lost your watch, taxes and housing costs taken straight from your wages by them.... it's all portrayed as making your life as simple as possible but the reality is much scarier!

  I loved the little sub plots running through the story and the similarities of the world we live in now were just frightening!   A disturbing but brilliant read!!

★★★★★



















No comments:

Post a Comment