Follow me on Twitter @bookkaz

Friday, 9 August 2019

#BookReview Do Not Feed The Bear by Rachel Elliott @TinderPress


ABOUT THE BOOK
A life-affirming novel of love, loss and letting go - for readers of ELEANOR OLIPHANT, THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP and WHEN GOD WAS A RABBIT 

On her forty-seventh birthday, Sydney Smith stands on a rooftop and prepares to jump...

Sydney is a cartoonist and freerunner. Feet constantly twitching, always teetering on the edge of life, she's never come to terms with the event that ripped her family apart when she was ten years old. And so, on a birthday that she doesn't want to celebrate, she returns alone to St Ives to face up to her guilt and grief. It's a trip that turns out to be life-changing - and not only for herself.
DO NOT FEED THE BEAR is a book about lives not yet lived, about the kindness of others and about how, when our worlds stop, we find a way to keep on moving.
published by Tinder Press
PURCHASE LINKS
hive.co.uk  £15.25
whsmith  £13.29
waterstones  £18.99

MY REVIEW
I found this to be a really touching and emotional read featuring a cast of wonderful characters who are all dealing with their own grief and sadness, and how the kindness of others is sometimes the turning point in a life devoid of much hope and is able to give people a new perspective on what is happening in their life.

The story centres around Sydney who has dealt with some major trauma in her youth, and has carried that with her as she approaches her 47th birthday. Never really able to confront her emotions, she is a freerunner and uses that as an escape and a way of taking control over things she thinks she can't control. Her partner Ruth is used to her ways, but still wishes she could open up more - she wants a little bit of normal in their life.

When Sydney takes herself off to a place that means so much, she is faced with new people and new outlooks. But still she can't escape the past and you are very aware of the hold it has over all of her family and it was heartbreaking to read her thoughts as she remembered family holidays.

I loved the way the interconnecting stories flowed - from Belle the quiet soul who works in the local bookshop and hides herself away in routine and books, to Maria who wants to rescue the 'angel' she finds but seems unable to rescue herself. And I also loved the perspective of Stuart the dog - the family pet of Maria, Jon and Belle - it was just so cleverly written and very perceptive to have his thoughts on what was going on with his humans.

As Sydney, her father and her partner are made to face up to what happened in the past, it was really emotional to keep having their flashbacks and thoughts and to see how their prescence in this place is helping to shift the minds of the people they meet. It was so refreshing to read the different characters with such different outlooks on life - their hopes, their fears and the expectations you place on yourself and those around you.

Quirky, insightful and moving! Highly recommended!


★★★★

My thanks to the team at Tinder Press for my advanced copy in return for a fair and honest review.









No comments:

Post a Comment