Follow me on Twitter @bookkaz

Saturday, 7 September 2019

My Bookish Weekly Wrap Up - 7th September 2019


Hello all!  Another week flies by! Anyone spotted any Christmas goodies in the shops yet?! I've noticed an increase in the number of Christmas theme books being advertised... there is no escape!

On to the bookish front of my week - and it's been fairly productive!  4 books have been finished, 0 have been grabbed from Netgalley, 2 books arrived by post and then I went browsing in the library and left with 3 books from there!

BOOKS FINISHED


A book about a book and magical doors!! Wonderful! Full review to follow on blog tour

EFFIN' BIRDS by AARON REYNOLDS - 5 effin stars!!
Hilarious!! But if you're easily offended, then this book isn't for you!


Have you ever looked a bird dead in the eye and wondered what it was thinking?
With Effin Birds, the most eagerly anticipated new volume in the noble avocation of bird identification, you can venture into nature with confidence. This farcical field guide will help you identify over 200 birds, but more importantly, for the first time in history, it will also help you understand what these birds are thinking:
  • The vainglorious grebe is acutely aware of its own magnificence.
  • The hipster pelican thinks the world is a sh*tbarge.
  • The overbearing heron wishes you better luck next time, f*cknuts.
  • The counsellor swallow wants you to maybe try not being a d*ckhead.
Alongside beautiful, scientifically accurate illustrations and a whole lot of swearing is incisive commentary on modern life and the world we, as humans, must navigate. Or maybe it s just some pictures of effin birds, okay?


More fun in this book - and more swearing too! Great adventure!



out 26th September - Louise Walters Books

Stylish and tragic in equal measures


BOOKHAUL

I received my copy of Effin' Birds this week from Unbound as I was one of the supporters who pledged for the book to be made - check my name out in the subscriber list at the back of the book if you get hold of a copy! And I also received an early copy of Don't Think A Single Thought from Louise Walters Books as I've signed up as supporter of her books too! Well worth checking out!


Books from the library....

OF MICE AND MEN by JOHN STEINBECK

Streetwise George and his big, childlike friend Lennie are drifters, searching for work in the fields and valleys of California. They have nothing except the clothes on their back, and a hope that one day they’ll find a place of their own and live the American dream. But dreams come at a price. Gentle giant Lennie doesn’t know his own strength, and when they find work at a ranch he gets into trouble with the boss’s daughter-in-law. Trouble so bad that even his protector George may not be able to save him…

MR GODLEY'S PHANTOM by MAL PEET

A haunting masterpiece from storyteller Mal Peet. Part ghost story, part detective novel and part something else entirely, Mr Godley's Phantom is something of an enigma, with its own distinctive fifties flavour of cigarettes, petrol and mystery.

THIS CENSUS-TAKER by CHINA MIEVILLE

For readers of George Saunders, Kelly Link, and Karen Russell, This Census Taker is the poignant and uncanny new novella from award-winning and bestselling author China Miéville. After witnessing a profoundly traumatic event, a boy is left alone in a remote house on a hilltop with his increasingly deranged parent. When a stranger knocks on his door, the boy senses that his days of isolation are over—but by what authority does this man keep the meticulous records he carries? Is he the boy’s friend? His enemy? Or something altogether other?


CURRENTLY READING


I am currently between books.... shock!! So I'm deciding whether to read ahead for some blog tours, or use this time wisely and catch up on some of my own books..... the struggle is real! So, knowing me, I'll be ending up at Netgalley and adding to my shelves there instead!! 😉

HAPPY READING!!














No comments:

Post a Comment