Follow me on Twitter @bookkaz

Friday, 27 March 2020

#BlogTour THE WALLS WE BUILD by JULES HAYES #BookReview #Giveaway @rararesources @JulesHayes6


Delighted to be the latest stop on the Blog Tour for the wonderful THE WALLS WE BUILD by JULES HAYES. My thanks to the author and Rachel of Rachel's Random Resources for putting the tour together and letting me be part of it all!

There's also a giveaway on my page today - you lucky bunnies! - so watch out for that, along with my review, as this is one book you don't want to miss out on!!


The Walls We Build

 Three friends … Growing up together around Winston Churchill’s estate in Westerham, Kent, Frank, Florence and Hilda are inseparable. But as WW2 casts its menacing shadow, friendships between the three grow complex, and Frank – now employed as Churchill’s bricklayer – makes choices that will haunt him beyond the grave, impacting his grandson’s life too. 

Two Secrets … Shortly after Frank's death in 2002 Florence writes to Richard, Frank’s grandson, hinting at the darkness hidden within his family. On investigation, disturbing secrets come to light, including a pivotal encounter between Frank and Churchill during the war and the existence of a mysterious relative in a psychiatric hospital.

 One Hidden Life … How much more does Florence dare reveal about Frank – and herself – and is Richard ready to hear? 


Set against the stunning backdrop of Chartwell, Churchill’s country home, comes a tragic story of misguided honour, thwarted love and redemption, reverberating through three generations and nine decades.

 For readers of Kate Morton, Rachel Hore, Katherine Webb, Lucinda Riley and Juliet West. “Passion, intrigue and family secrets drive this complex wartime relationship drama. A page turner. I loved it.” #1 bestselling author, Nicola May

Purchase Links




ABOUT THE AUTHOR


Jules Hayes lives in Berkshire with her husband, daughter and a dog. She has a degree in modern history and holds a particular interest in events and characters from the early 20th century. As a former physiotherapist and trainer – old habits die hard – when not writing Jules likes to run. She also loves to watch films, read good novels and is a voracious consumer of non-fiction too, particularly biographies. Jules is currently working on her second historical novel, another dual timeline story. Jules also writes contemporary thriller and speculative fiction as JA Corrigan.

 Jules Hayes can be found at: 

Twitter @JulesHayes6 - http://www.twitter.com/JulesHayes6
Facebook Author Page: JulesHayesAuthor - http://www.facebook.com/JulesHayesAuthor 
Instagram: JulesHayes6 - http://www.instagram.com/juleshayes6 

Writing as JA Corrigan, Jules can be found at:

 Twitter: @juliannwriter - http://www.twitter.com/juliannwriter 
Facebook Author Page: JA Corrigan - http://www.facebook.com/jacorrigan 
Instagram: corriganjulieann http://www.instagram.com/corriganjulieann


MY REVIEW

Chartwell has always had a special place in my heart after many happy visits there with family, so that link drew me into reading this book and the special feeling of Chartwell is alive and kicking on the pages of this book as I found myself totally swept up in the lives of the characters and became so involved with their lives, secrets and struggles.  I may have even shed a tear or three as the story unfolded!!

This is the story of 3 friends from Kent - Hilda, Frank and Flo - and how their lives evolved through childhood to adulthood, during the times leading up to WW2 and beyond, and how secrets and lies never fail to cast a shadow over lives and what happens when you try and redeem the wrongs and how those living now deal with the pasts they are only just discovering.

What made this so special for me was the way that the stories ebbed and flowed with each character with them having such fascinating and compelling stories to explore.  There was always that link too back to the Churchill family which added to the history and sense of everyone pitching in during tough times. Meanwhile, real life was still going on around them and there was some serious issues going on in various families and showing how people dealt with things back then was eye opening. 

It was heartbreaking at times, especially watching the character Anna going through her struggles and it was dealt with in such a touching and sensitive manner.  The story draws you in beautifully with the revelations from the past as the family secrets are played out, and you often get the feeling that sometimes secrets are often best never shared.

This was a stunning piece of  fiction that has a little bit of everything thrown in - from the historical, to the emotional aspects of real life and the struggles we can all face - and I adored spending time in the company of these wonderful characters! Highly recommended!!

★★★★★

Want to win your own copy?! Well, now you can!! Read on for more details!!

GIVEAWAY

Giveaway to Win a Signed copy of The Walls We Build (Open INT) 

*Terms and Conditions –Worldwide entries welcome. Please enter using the Rafflecopter box below. The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then Rachel’s Random Resources reserves the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over. Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will passed to the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time Rachel’s Random Resources will delete the data. I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.


Good Luck!!!


No comments:

Post a Comment